What is Apostolic Succession?

Bill Duer's picture

Apostolic Succession

All RCC bishops are apostolic successors (they believe) That includes cardinals and popes who are bishops with
advanced rank.
You suggest Peter was illiterate and probably could not read or write. From my experience of teaching, I find
his writing of his epistle exceeds in quality far exceeding that of many of my graduate students. Please explain.
Given that Judas was an apostle who sacrificed his life for a few pieces of silver, Matthias was the thirteenth, Paul the fourteenth. Who was the fifteenth?
It is a tradition for the pope to wash the feet of others to show his non-exalted status in the eyes of God.
I enjoyed your post.